Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Attack of the Placenta Brain

Today I awoke after a lovely night of dreaming about Cheetos. Mountains and mountains of Cheetos stretched out in a vast expansion meant to be devoured as quickly as my mouth could move. I was quite clearly in a new type of heaven brought on by a serious case of “Placenta Brain.” Preggo Brain, Placenta Brain, Mommy Brain- all are terms to describe the weird state of mind one can only experience during pregnancy. What exactly are the consequences of Placenta Brain, may you ask? Where shall I begin? I’ve gone soft. At 14 weeks pregnant, all intellectual conversations have been replaced by baby/preggo topics or are otherwise interrupted by daydreams of food, cute little babies, hormonal sob-fests, and more thoughts about food.
Placenta Brain has given my husband the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to comment on my expanding hips or belly without being barred from our bed for the better part of the week. Indeed, he can pinch and poke to his heart’s content at my new “momique” (mommy physique) while I sit and smile and daydream of the little one growing inside. FOOD! All I can think of is food! I have never been so hungry in my entire life as I am now. It’s not like I have an option, though. I go from satiated to I’m-about-to-faint starving in about 60 seconds, give or take a few. What choice do I have? So I simply refuel. Bananas, veggies, more bananas, anything with vinegar, fruit, another banana, yogurt, and yes- Cheetos. I even have color cravings. Dark greens- artichokes, Romaine lettuce, green beans, and broccoli are common meals. As are the oranges- Cheetos, orange juice, Graham Chicken Masala, and cheese (yum!).
14w0d

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

