Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Mission Feed-A-Baby accomplished! (almost)

It finally sunk in around 12am what my OB said about potential/likely bed rest.  Like any other pregnant woman, my immediate concern was of food.   My husband cannot cook, and I have a growing baby to feed.  I found myself formulating an attack plan to cook and stock my freezer with at least 3 weeks worth of  meals.  My plan quickly grew until I found myself sitting at my kitchen table writing every last detail down.

Two hours later, I smiled down at my work.  First I wrote down every meal, side, and casserole that I know I can cook and that we both like.  I figured that C could easily cook simple veggies and salads to go with them, so I focused on more complicated dishes.  I went through my recipes, modified them so that they’ll freeze better,  and wrote down all the remaining ingredients needed for each dish.  I checked my pantry for what I have and which things I needed to buy. I reorganized a master grocery list according to where they are found in the store.  Then I checked my freezer tupperware to see how many new ones I would need to buy as well so that I can have enough to freeze and label everything I planned on cooking.

Today, after my GI surgeon’s appointment, I headed over to the store and got everything I needed.  I brought coupons and shopped smart so that I ended up saving around $30.  Ever since then, I’ve been cooking up the storm.

So far I’ve cooked deluxe mexican casserole, spaghetti, meat loafs with sauce, squash dressing, italian green bean casserole, sausage and gravy for biscuits,  lasagna, jambalya, bacon-n-beef baked beans, and I’m waiting on my hock-n-black-eye peas to soak. As soon as they have cooled, they will be labeled with serving directions, listed on the fridge, and organized into groups in the deep freezer.

As soon as I can, I am planning on cooking pork-n-potatoes, rump roast with veggies, sloppy joes, green bean casserole, jiffy corn casserole, home-made veggie soup, chicken/wild rice casserole, pulled BBQ pork ribs, pulled beef for sandwiches with dipping sauce, asparagus casserole, and a few others that I haven’t thought of yet. I am planning on resting for 2 days so that I am still following the doctors orders.

I’m also working on a list of easier things that C can prepare as well.  I’m making a weekly grocery list for these meals along with a easy-to-follow recipe list for him so that he can cook with confidence.  So far I have: chicken salad, cured ham, Cincinnati chili spaghetti, mexican/cream cheese dip, ham-n-macaroni casserole, and I’m working on others.  These things do not freeze well so it is win-win.  I just hate the idea of him having to do everything while I am on bed rest.  I figure the least I can do is to take care of the meals, especially since my OB gave me a heads-up about bed rest.  We are both of us huge fans of food at the moment anyways.

I have no idea where all of this energy came from!  Maybe I’m just nesting?  My feet and back are absolutely killing me but I’m so determined to accomplish this goal of mine.  I am of course resting with my feet up while things are baking or cooling- I synchronized the order of prepping/cooking so that I could.  I know that when my freezer is stocked that I will feel so much better and will finally be able to relax…until the next concern anyways. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

