Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Oh dear…he’s a Big Baby

Today we had our 30 week sonogram.  Nathan already weighs 4 pounds!  This means that if I made it all the way to 40 weeks that he could be a 9 pound baby.  I refuse! There’s no way my body can carry a 9-pounder.  It’s just not happening. I put my food down on that one.  I’ll have some choice words for my OB if he tries to make me.

There is a mild amount of relief that my OB said he won’t let me go past 38 weeks.  Still- that’s an 8 pound baby.  Twice as big as I am now. My OB told me earlier that with all my GI issues my baby will not be a big baby- “Perhaps around 5-6 pounds.”  HA HA HA!  He pulled a fast one on me.  I wonder if he knows how much trouble he is in?

I just don’t know if I can make it.  I guess I will if I have to, but I can’t promise that I will be pleasant or lovely to be around.  I’ll probably be more or less sessile and more than a little bit grumpy most of the time. Especially when I have to walk anywhere…or sit up…or breathe! I already tend to feel out of breath.  I have a feeling that having 4 more pounds of baby in there is not going to help the problem.

I’ll have to buy bigger pants- or else live in C’s boxer shorts.  I’ve already stolen all of his soft t-shirts.  I get too grumpy when things are tight on me.  I gave myself a contraction just thinking about it. Since his choices are to finance a (bigger) maternity wardrobe, deal with a grumpy wife in tight-fitting clothes, or go underwear-less- well I guess he chooses the latter.

I think C is privately thankful that we went the IVF route since I can’t exactly blame him for putting me in the predicament.   He has a good point there. He grinned for all the world to see when he found out just how big his son will be knowing full and well that he has immunity from the wrath of this pregnant woman. Lucky guy.

In all honesty, I really am proud that he is growing so well in there despite all that has gone on with this pregnancy.  He is absolutely thriving and I couldn’t be happier.  Even if I do amount to a land-bound, grumpy, sessile beluga whale in stolen boxer shorts by the time he arrives, I know without a doubt that it will be 1000% worth it the minute I look into his eyes.

In the words of his favorite Aunt- Grow Nathan, grow!

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

