Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

My TJ Max Adventure

I recently had an appointment which was conveniently located right across the street from a TJ Max store.  My wallet had the money from PawPaw which was to be spent on items for the baby.  After the appointment I made a beeline for the store.

While combing the racks, I kept noticing that the other women there were smiling at me.  I felt a little bit paranoid and unsure of how exactly to respond.  Why are they smiling?  Is my shirt undone? I look down. Nope.  Is there toilet paper on my shoes? Nada. Am I missing something? I look down again and saw that my shirt made me look exceptionally pregnant.  Ooooh…Now it all made sense.  I quickly got over the shy/paranoid combo and started to return their smiles.

I picked up the baby essentials that I had been looking for, plus a few super-cute bonus outfits for Nathan, and waddled up to checkout.  The lady checking me out gave me one of those “Aww she’s pregnant” smiles.  I returned it like a pro, feeling proud of myself for not being overly reserved.  Motherhood is a shared experience.

Then she asked me the silliest question ever: “Do you know what you’re having yet?”  I stared at her blankly for a second.  I looked down at my loot: Red and blue bodysuits with cars and train motifs, brown and blue onsies with “Thank heaven for little boys” on them, and more blue outfits. They were all utterly, unequivocally, unmistakably made for baby boys.

Surely I misunderstood? I briefly entertained myself with a few naughty replies. (“Yes in fact we do- it’s a girl! I’m a feminist and so I thought cross-dressing her would give her an edge in this male-dominated world.” Or something like that).  Instead, I smiled and said, sweetly, that we are having a boy.

Oh well.  Silly happens.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

