Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Top surprises I found during pregnancy

Now that I am nearing the end of my pregnancy, I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on all of the surprises I found during my pregnancy:

  • Hot flashes: I found myself standing outside in a t-shirt and shorts in 30-degree weather many a night in my 1st trimester.  This is coming from a girl who normally freezes at room temperature.
  • Pregnancy vision: One trip out to the golf course confirmed that pregnancy does indeed reduce your vision significantly thanks to fluid retention. I still owe C a new pack of golf balls to replace the ones I lost.
  • Nails! For the first time in my life these things are finally worth something. Same thing goes for the boobs.
  • The 6th month “pop” phenomenon.  I spent the first 5 months searching in vain for any sign of a baby bump.  Then it seems I miraculously sprouted my bump overnight in the 6th month.
  • Boobs! There’s a lot I can say about these 2 girls of mine, but the major surprise is just how early they started to become…um…functional.  (Think 16-weeks).  Nice.
  • Third trimester hips. Feels like I have 2 giant bruises to sleep on every night.
  • Speaking of nights, I feel boarder-line nocturnal.  Bathroom breaks, nighttime eating, really strange dreams, position changes, hot flashes…it is safe to say that the moon and I have become very best friends.
  • Blue veins: My body is practically a road map of the vascular system thanks to these very prominent veins of mine.
  • Eating: I never expected to go from kind-of hungry to I’m-about-to-faint-and-start-dry-heaving starving in less than 2 minutes. Flat.
  • 3rd trimester stomach: I feel like it has the capacity of a walnut thanks to baby’s rear end pushing up on it. Same thing goes for the bladder.
  • My body in the mornings: I can’t decide if my body feels like I’ve been hit by a bus, or if I feel like I am 92 years old.  I guess either will work.
  • How good a warm bath feels. Seriously. Soaks those aches and pains away better than anything else- except for maybe a good massage from the hubby.
  • Sore feet: My heels started to feel bruised after week 30 or so.  Tennis shoes with a night gown- a pregnant woman’s guide to home fashion.
  • Speaking of home fashion- my hubby’s stock of boxers and t-shirts have long since been claimed by yours truly. I have no problem what-so-ever with whipping out my cat claws if he tries to come near them to get them back. Reeoow!
  • Moods! Wow. I must say that I had a few you-tube worthy mood swings in my 1st trimester, though thankfully they pretty much disappeared thereafter.
  • Feeling baby move: Beginning with the earliest 2nd trimester flutters, which changed to late 2nd trimester punches and jabs, which finally settled into alien-in-my-belly squirming as his space to move quickly ran out.
  • Energy drain: I’ve almost forgotten what it feels like to have all my energy to myself. It’s the first time in my life that I’ve ever fallen short of the hyperactive criteria.
Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

