Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Attachment Parenting & Morning Sickness

My morning sickness is back. Ugh.  I read online that the hormones responsible for softening the cervix for labor/birth can bring on nausea and vomiting again in the 3rd trimester.  This would certainly explain the…um…”pains down there.” Good to know things are working normally.

I feel like I am back in my 1st trimester again.  I did mention to my OB’s nurse last week that I’ve been having trouble eating and drinking due to nausea, but at the time it wasn’t bad enough to warrant intervention.  Since then, it’s steadily gotten worse to the point that I pretty much stay nauseaus and now I am vomiting several times a day/night.  Its miserable.  I hope the medicine will help calm the morning sickness.

Attachment Parenting: an anti-Baby Training approach

I’ve been hearing all sorts of advice about how to care for baby.  The one thing I don’t want to do is “baby training” where you train the baby to make his behavior and needs more convenient for us adults.  For example, you schedule feedings, let them ‘cry it out’, and limit carrying or engaging with them for fear of spoiling them.  You can effectively train the baby to lay there in his crib in his own filth, feeling hungry or scared, and they won’t cry because they know their cries will be ignored until the schedule dictates that its time for them to be changed/fed/comforted. Sure these babies appear to be a “good baby,” but its because they know it is pointless to depend on the very people who brought him into this world to meet his needs and take care of him.  Its awful. I want to know how “baby training” is anything less than selfish on parents’ behalf.

In a lot of other cultures, babies’ needs are immediately met on their earliest cues.  They are breastfed promptly, usually they are co-sleepers or their moms practice baby-wearing.  These babies are not “spoiled” but are actually quieter and thrive because their needs are being met.  I just can’t think of anything worse than being completely helpless and depending on others who ignore you because it’s more convenient for them. Caring for a baby is not meant to be convenient.  I want my son to feel safe, secure, and that I will always be there for him whenever he needs me. This means responding to his cries, feeding him on cue and not by a clock, and being fully engaged with him whenever possible.  The commitment to provide for their needs (emotional, physical, mental) comes with the territory when you made the decision to bring them into the world.  Babies aren’t the ones who need training, the parents do. GRRR!

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

