Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Four weeks into being a Mommy

Wow…so much has happened in the last 4 weeks.

Four weeks ago, I was nervously anticipating the birth of our only child. 

Three weeks ago, I was feeling quite vulnerable from a miserably hard post-op birth experience yet marveled at this new life in my arms.

Two weeks ago, I felt like I was going to lose my mind if I had to keep nursing every 2 hours for much longer.

One week ago, a miracle happened and he FINALLY got his days and nights straight, which allowed me to rest more and really start to enjoy being a new mommy.

Now, at 4 weeks, I feel like I finally get the hang of this whole mommy business and I’m glad that I made it through those hard first weeks. For all of those weeks, I felt eternally grateful for my mom in law here and marveled at how great of a dad C is.

I wish I could travel back in time and have a little chat with myself.  I’d tell myself that YES, it DOES get easier around 3-4 weeks and that it is ok to ask for all the help you can get so you can focus on your (and baby’s) BASIC needs.  I’d tell myself to give my mother-in-law a huge hug every single day for all that she did each day for us.  I’d tell myself to listen to my instincts on my recovery, to take it easier than I thought I needed to, and to make sure sleeping and eating came first before everything but baby.  I’d tell myself not to underestimate how much work my body was putting into getting over major surgery while getting over a hard pregnancy and still having the reserve to tend to the demands of a newborn.

One mistake I made was to think that I had the energy to do something (organize my closet for example) then I’d end up tiring myself out just when the baby needed me to be awake and tend to him.  I should have just rested, tended the baby, and THEN maybe do a tiny bit of work but quit as soon as the first sign of fatigue set in.  Another mistake I made was to wrongly think that I could compare my recovery to other women who seemingly bounced right back after giving birth.  My body has been through so much over the last few years and my health is not stellar, so there is no comparison.  Even my long-practicing OB said I was “a first” for him, so I should have been more patient with my body those first weeks. Like they say…hindsight is 20/20, but it’s still nice to take a moment to reflect and learn from my experience.

It’s so hard to believe that this all started a year ago with our fertility saga…

Nathan as an embryo

The doctors who gave us Nathan

Simply amazing…

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

