Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

The love of my life (part II)

Whenever my son was born, I instantly loved him more than life itself.  But never in my wildest dreams did I think that my tremendous love for him could grow even more.  I just didn’t think the human heart is capable of holding all of the love inside without bursting from the strain.  Yet, for me, it has and it continues to do so. I just don’t know how I ever thought life was complete without having him in it.  Even the worst days with him still manage to make my best pre-baby days look like an ordinary oyster shell because he is my pearl.

When he looks at me, I love him so much that it almost hurts.  There is simply no other way to describe it.  When he is discontent with life, it makes me want to move a mountain just so he can have a better view of the beauty that lies ahead of us. When he smiles and laughs, I feel complete joy from the tip of my toes to the top of my head.  When I am away from him, I feel broken for I am then only half of a whole.

My mom and I used to play a game when I was a child in which we would try to quantify the love we had for each other.  For  example, “I love you more than grains of sand on earth.” Sometimes it could get quite complicated: “I love you more than all the blades of grass on the prairie x the starts in the sky x the grains of salt in the oceans of the world.”  Now that I have my son, I realize that I can sum up my love for him in one simple statement:

I love you more than you will ever know.


Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

