Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

First ever temper tantrum

Nathan had his first ever temper tantrum the other night in the bathtub at 5 months, 2 weeks old.  Here’s what happened:

Nathan LOVES his bath with mommy and it started out like any other bath.  I did the usual and held him on his back to wash his hair.  He started chewing on the wash cloth while I scrubbed his fuzzies.  (He hasn’t quite graduated to “hair” yet, but he is working on it).

I then took the wash cloth from him to finish his bath and he instantly started screaming and arching his back.  He “balled up” his fist and started pumping his legs like riding a bicycle rapidly.  I was completely shocked and dropped the wash cloth back on his belly as I quickly grabbed him to keep him from launching himself off of my lap and into the water.  The instant his hand touched the wash cloth, he stopped and started chewing on it as if nothing had happened! WHAT in the WORLD????

I had absolutely NO idea that a temper tantrum was even POSSIBLE at 5 months!  I thought that I at least had another year or two until we hit the independence phase…but, wow, I guess not.  So…I am clueless as to how to handle this in such a young child.  He is very bright and knows what he wants, but I do not want to enable or unintentionally teach him that this behavior is acceptable.  I just don’t know.  I plan to ask the pediatrician about it…maybe some of my ‘mommy club’ friends might have some suggestions as well.  Aside from that incident, it hasn’t happened since.  He does, however, communicate by whining whenever he wants/doesn’t want something.  It is kind-of cute thought because he only does it when he thinks you are looking at him. This is interesting because we are both deaf and I guess he has learned already that we must be looking at him in order to hear him.  Smart boy…he will be keeping us on our toes for sure! Oh Lordie.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

