Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Milestones: 6 mos, 3 wks old

Nathan is growing too fast! He is a very fast learner and very seldom does he forget what he learns. I have been trying to make it a point to sit down and record his developmental milestones because I think it is fun to look back on and it is important to keep track of for his pediatrician.

Word association:

When we sit outside facing the street, and I say, “car” he automatically cranes his neck both ways to search for the car.  If I say, “where is da-da?” he will turn and look toward the stairs because that is where C normally appears for the first time at the end of the day.  He knows “cat” and is fascinated by them.  He knows “haily” and “Lil man”, baba, yummy for your tummy (meal time), “mommy hurry” (for example if he signals to me that he wants something and I cannot tend to it right then, if I say mommy hurry he will sit quietly and wait most of the time. If I don’t say this, he will cry thinking that I missed his signal), all done (if I say this and he is not done eating, he will get wide eyed and pant and sign WANT to signal that he is not done. If I ignore his communication attempts, he will get his mad face and cry).  If I say, “ball” he will look for the nearest ball and sign WANT.  If he is in the bouncer, and I say “No bouncy” he will stop and stand straight up for me to pick him up.  If I say “bite” he will automatically open his mouth before he even sees that I am giving him something.  If he passes gas and I say, “did you make a pooty with your booty?” he will smile and sometimes laugh, which is just plain cute.  He has a few interactive toys and he knows what “make it go” means and will push the respective toys’ buttons to turn them on. He knows what “hold it” means and can hold his food/water sippy bottle. If I am just talking to him and he recognizes one of the words above, his face will light up and he will smile at me.

Language:

He spends inordinate amounts of time babbling.  He will often stick to a theme. Some of his sounds are: thuh, duh, ma, da, amah (which is actually mom in Sinhalese -aShri Lanka language- if I remember correctly); buh, muh, nah, ba and a few others that I cannot think of at the moment. Whenever I start a sentence with, “where is…” or “what is it?” he will make his “surprise face” and start looking around.

Last week, or maybe the week before, it took him one lesson to learn to look at what I am pointing at.  The first time I taught him, we were watching cars outside and I would say “car” and point either left or right, wherever the car was.  At first he would look both ways because he knows it is one of the two places that a car will appear.  So, I pointed to the car and he looked at my arm and I snapped my fingers and wiggled them to get the car into his peripheal vision, which he locked his gaze on.  The second time he automatically looked at my arm but I had to repeat it to get him to look at my fingers and then he would see the car.  The third or fourth time, he looked right at my pointed finger and then found the car on his own.  The time after that he looked down my hand to see the car, and I knew then that he finally understood what it means when I point.

Physical:

He sits up and very, very rarely topples over.  He Picks up toys and plays with them, sets them down, and manipulates them well. He knows where the “make it go” buttons are on all of his toys and can turn them on himself.  (I showed him ONCE on one of them and he never forgot it!)  He lunges forward and can use another toy as a tool to extend his reach while he uses the toy to move the other one closer so that he can reach it.  He has been able to pivot around on his belly for a few weeks now.  He is trying to dig his toes in to inch forward while on his belly and recently started to pull one side up on his knees.  He is not quite strong enough yet to get on both knees and push his belly up off of the ground.  It seems like every time he is on the ground he learns by leaps and bounds and it usually catches me off-gaurd. In the bath, he knows how to reach under the water to grab whatever he wants and he can get the foam toys that are stuck on the bathtub off so that he can play with them.  In the bath, a few weeks ago he started to use his belly or the side of the tub to pick up slippery wet ball toys since his hand is not big enough to reach around the ball.  He likes to twirl his hands in my hair.

He recently started crawling over my lap when he wants something on the other side.  If I have him standing next to me, he will often reach toward the back of the chair/couch/stair and grab ahold of it to support himself standing up.

When he is all done eating, he will hold his arms and hands back and his head up while I unfasten the bib and remove it.  When I am changing him, he tries to turn himself over while reaching above his head to get into the stash of baby supplies I have stored there for changing time.

He can sit on his little “bike” toy by himself and can move it backwards, but not yet forward on his own.

Personality: He loves books and tries to pick up (pincher-style) followed by scratching the images when he cannot pick them up. Here is a picture of him trying to “catch” the balls as they shoot up from the toy, and another of him playing:

He wears 12 month clothes and is still just a long, skinny boy.  He has a cute line where the linea alba is that makes it look like he has defined abdominal muscles (6-pack).  There is a picture of his belly below. This trait, as far as I know, is genetic from my side of the family because I have had a “six-pack” since around his age as well.  His oldest tooth (bottom left) has grown half-way out. A top tooth (right) has sprouted and I can see/feel the other top front tooth just under his bulging gum.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Milestones: 6 mos, 3 wks old

  1. Jamie on said:

    Um… sign me up for some of those 6-pack genes.

    😉

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

