Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Mothers’ Day

First Mothers’ Day- May 8, 2010

C went all-out and made it a weekend affair.  He pampered me silly by cleaning and cooked me my favorite foods.  We ate artichokes and king crab legs Saturday night.  He grilled beef wraps and his famous chicken on Sunday.  After we ate, he gave me two cards, one from himself and the other from Nathan.  It was so cute because the one from Nathan had, “Mammmammammama” written on the front of the envelope.  Nathan “signed” the card with help from C.  Both cards are going into my scrapbook that I am making.

C also totally splurged on a nice gift certificate to a local Spa so I can go and pamper myself.  I have never been before, but I have the feeling that I will like it. A lot.  🙂

The highlights of the weekend: In all honesty, the think what stood out the most was seeing how excited C was over the weekend that he had planned for me.  (Actually- it is a tie between that and how he kept interjecting into random conversations about what he wants for Fathers’ Day). I mean, he was positively giddy and it tickled me pink to see him like that.   I loved how we turned off the tv, iPhones, and computers to spend quality time together without being distracted.  Funny things happened…for example, we started talking to each other.  I am not talking about “Please hand me the remote” or “What’s for dinner” either.  I mean we actually looked at each other and started telling stories about college and other personal things.  I felt a sense of reconnection with him that I have not felt in forever and I really hope that we have more of it in the near future because it was simply wonderful and I loved it.

[C: For Fathers’ Day, I think I would like to go play golf with a good view of cinci in the background…]

I woke up a little sad because it is the first Mothers’ day without an actual mother, or grandmother for that matter.  It felt bittersweet until I received a very sweet note of encouragement from a friend of mine.  After reading it, I instead focused on the joy of this particular day and had a wonderful time.

[C: And now that I think about it, I need some new golf shoes. Hint hint, Nathan.]

It is so hard to believe how much our lives have changed since our little one’s arrival.  It was a tough, very long road getting here but I think it made us more appreciative of our blessings.  I have grown so much as a person as well.  I have been trying to make a list of these changes, but there is only so much space available on this blog- lol.  Off of the top of my head, here are a few:

  • “Personal time” has taken a whole new meaning since I cannot shut off the half of my brain which is totally in tune to my son.  He is ALWAYS on my mind, so spacing out is not an option anymore during personal time.  And yes, it can will be interrupted (frequently).   🙂
  • Breastfeeding- I am so unbelievably proud of myself for having made it 7 months already through all sorts of issues.  It is right up there on my list of accomplishments with college degrees, learning another language, and what-not.
  • Living life with more integrity- My resolve to live with integrity has been strengthened 10-fold.  I want him to do what he says he will do and be the person he knows he should be regardless of the situation because he knows it is right, even when no one is looking. The best way I can teach him this is to set the example, and I certainly have been.

[C: Oh! and some breakfast in bed and lunch at this new little eatery would be great]

  • Patience- Now here’s a note-worthy self-improvement quality to be applauded!  My patience with him is unbelievable.  I mean, yes, if I have had very little sleep and I’m sick with a cold and he is just being Mr. Crankypants, I do feel the urge to be unplugged at the time, but I have never lost my patience with him or lessened my care efforts toward him.  I’m proud of that.
  • Love and affection- I have never been the touchy-feely-huggy kind of person.  With him though, I give him a million kisses and hugs a day.  I think he even gets tired of it sometimes, but I can’t help myself.  I honestly think I will have withdrawals if I suddenly had to stop loving him to pieces for longer than the length of his naps.
  • Happiness- I feel truly content being around him. I just feel…happiness.  Not much else I can add to that. 🙂

A lot of other changes are evident, but I don’t have the time to write it all down at the moment.  Anyhow, I had a great Mothers’ Day and I am truly blessed to have my little guy here to love!

[C:  “Hmm…I also think maybe we could…]

[Me: “C! You can’t talk about Fathers’ Day plans on Mothers’ Day. It’s like talking about your birthday on mine.” lol

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

