Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Sleepless in Cinci

Is there a baby manual somewhere around here? Cause I could really use one- STAT.

For whatever reason, 9.5 month old Nathan has been going to bed as usual and then waking up at all hours of the night crying.  We’ve been tag-teaming nighttime parenting and we’re so stinking tired.  I have no idea why he is now doing this.  He’s not sick and there is absolutely no other identifiable causes for this.  I don’t know what to do about it.  I did read that many 9-month olds go through a nighttime waking phase, though they did not offer an explanation for it.  They also did not offer solutions aside from, “However you decide to handle this behavior, be prepared to do so for the next few months of this phase.”

Ugh.

So what are we supposed to do for this? Adding to the issue is the fact that whoever is up with him has to unplug his monitor so that it does not shake the bed of the sleeping parent.  So if we “let him cry it out” then we have to stay awake in order to plug it back in. We can’t set an alarm just in case we fall asleep because the monitor IS the alarm…or they use the same vibration disk anyhow.

I suppose, now that I’m groggily thinking about it, I can move the monitor/alarm dock to the couch and sleep there for now.  At least then one of us will get some sleep.

I’m NOT a fan of the cry-it-out method, but I must say that prior to this phase, any and all crying of his was directly due to one discomfort or another.  Now I think he may simply be testing out his newly realized ability to use crying to get us to go to him.  Or maybe I’m wrong.

I really do need to find that baby manual…

Sighs.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

