Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Bittersweet times

Yesterday I went to Hobby Lobby to look for some photo props for Nathan’s first birthday pictures.  The store has already put out all of their fall and halloween stuff.  It reminded me of a bittersweet time coming up- the 1 year anniversary of my mom’s death along with my son’s birthday.

Fall was my mom’s absolute favorite time of the year.  She spent the majority of August and September planning and buying her annual fall decorations for her yard and home.  We used to talk about the wreaths we were making and cute craft ideas for pumpkin displays.  The table centerpiece was the crowning glory of the season.  Her collection of scarecrows were a source of pride for her and for good reason- they were always adorable.  She loved the cooling air, the promises of upcoming holidays with family, and the gorgeous fall trees.

As I browsed the stores silk flowers section, I started to pick out her favorite flowers/colors to make a boquet for her grave.  I put them together and made a beautiful arrangement that I knew she would love.  But when I went to check out, I broke down into tears. I put them down and left the store.  I just couldn’t do it.

Today, however, I am going to go back and pick out her boquet again.  Come hell or high water, I am going to pick out the best bunch of fall flowers the world has ever seen and they WILL be on her grave in time for fall.  I can almost hear her now, “For Goodness stakes put those tacky summer flowers on my grave in the trash and put me some fresh fall ones!”  It makes me smile now even through my tears.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

