Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Loving this Fall weather

It has been in the 70’s during the day and in the 50s at night.  Simply wonderful after a long, hot summer!  I finally got to dress Nathan in his cute jeans and long-sleeved shirt today when we went outside to watch his Daddy work in the yard.  Yesterday night I even got to put his new wind-breaker jacket from the Gap on him and he looked SO cute. We did a late-evening run to Meijers (its like an upscale version of Walmart).  I found 2 gorgeous Mums, one has yellow flowers and the other has maroon.  I put one in a flower pot by my door.  The other one is in a flower pot on our back deck at the top of the stairs.  I have another mum plant in the flower urn by my door that actually came up again from last year’s mum, which was unexpected given how cold it is up here.  The base of that mum has actually started to look like a bush or shrub because it looks wooden.  Not sure what’s going on with that. Also, we had several other annuals, including a petunia, come up again after hibernating all winter.

Today I made a fabulous pasta salad and also raspberry cheesecake bars.  I like to try a new recipe every now and then.  If we like it, and it’s not hard to make, then I add it to my “Hearn Cookbook” and memory so that I can make it on a more regular basis.  Some of our current favorites are 4-cheese chicken fettuccini and this mexican lasagna that I made up  one day.

Here’s a pasta salad recipe that I made today (delish!).

I did not follow the recipe exactly.  Instead of plain pasta I used the three colored kind.  I also used apple cider vinegar because I didn’t have the other one.  I used cut up lunch meat in place of the pepperoni as well.  Finally, I ended up putting red, yellow, and orange bell peppers in it which really made it beautiful with all of the colors.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

