Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Potty Training

This is a rather frank discussion about a totally normal mile-stone of every single human’s development.  I use words like, potty, poopy, and other terms to communicate potty-training related events.  If you have objections to these infant hygiene concepts, please feel free to skip this post.

I have been noticing lately that Nathan could possibly be ready to start potty training.  I read online that there are some signs to look for, such as: having regular bowel movements, being uncomfortable with dirty diapers and wanting to be changed.  I read that most kids are ready to potty train around 18 months to 3 years of age.  However, I remember that I trained at 2 years old in one day and only had one accident after that. While he is only 11 months old and not ready for underwear, I see signs the he may be ready to start practicing. Nathan, when he needs to go poopy, often either crawls up to me or if he is playing he will stop and look straight at me.  Right after he is done making a potty, he will come up to me with a whine while pulling his diaper down to signal for me to take it off.  This tells me that he may be ready to start doing some of his pottying on the “big boy” potty.

I have an award-winning boon potty which is awesome because I can use it to sit on while he bathes and he can use it as a step-stool to brush his teeth or get onto the regular potty later. It has little side storage to store clean diapers, wipes, toilet paper, and even a “book” for him to read while he does business. (Boon baby products as a whole are some of my all-time favorites!)

Yesterday I sat him down at his first cues that he was ready and gave him a toy to play with while sitting there.  He made a potty and I clapped and cheered for him for making his first big boy potty!

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

