Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

My Fall Decorations

Ever since having a child of my own, I am especially driven to make our home festive and magical for all major holidays.  Fall is a favorite holiday and so I decided to decorate our front door with a gigantic 5′ scarecrow and other fall-like displays:


While my decorations are not worthy of any Southern Living magazine feature, I am nevertheless quite tickled with how it turned out. It did not cost much, take much effort, nor did it require me to use up any valuable brain space otherwise occupied with the other five bazillion things on my typical mommy brain. On the bottom right, I took down an old vine plant and twisted it around my railing. For Halloween, I will put fake spiders’ webbing and equally fake plastic replicas of little (or giant???) 8-legged sources of my nightmares on it.
I like where I placed my scarecrow, whom we have affectionately named “Budreaux” because the side light keeps him visible even at night. Budreaux was obtained at a hefty, wallet-breaking cost of $2.99. I combined a coupon with a sale and the big guy was officially welcomed into our household. 🙂

Ugh….by the way, the cooling weather has caused our old, cranky cat to perpetually nag us for a chance to warm her aching, cold, paws on our jugular, no less. Which would be totally fine except for that, 1- we happen to need the blood going to our brains, and 2- her breath smells two notches above that of something long since dead on the side of the road.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

