Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

MOPS group

My neighbor, S, invited me to go with her tonight to her church’s Moms of Preschoolers group (MOPS).  It was scheduled from 6:30pm until 9. I was SO excited because this is the first “night out” that I have had since before Nathan was born while pregnant.  So today I rushed to get groceries, cook dinner, clean up after cooking, finish all of the cleaning and laundry I had left, and then I got everything laid out for C to take care of Nathan for the evening. C was such a sweetheart about my big night out. He made sure he came home early enough for me to leave on time and was completely supportive about things. S picked me up and away we went!

We arrived at the (huge) church and went to their activity/indoor basketball court for the MOPS meeting.  When we arrived, they had a long table with everything needed to paint your own piece of pottery.  I chose to paint Nathan a little piggy bank using colors to match his room.  They had tons of great food and tasty hot chocolates for us to enjoy.  We sat around large round tables and chatted amiably with fellow moms while painting.  I met a lot of really nice women, one who had a son named Nathan James! Small world. 🙂

I started to feel a little guilty about half-way through about leaving my baby at home, but I pushed those thoughts aside and focused on enjoying my time there.  We both finished our work right around 9pm. I got up to help where I could to clean up, and then we said our good-byes and headed home.  When I got home, I peeked into the nursery and Nathan peeked back, so I went ahead and picked up my baby boy and rocked him.

I noticed that C had dressed him in his heaviest fleece pajamas and that Nathan was sweating in the warm temperature, so I changed him into some lighter clothing. Then I rocked him and sang to him, which he showed his appreciation by looking up at me and smiling.  I sang to him a little lullaby I made up for him:

I will always love you

I will ALWAYS love you

Mommy always loves you… my baby, BABY boy…

I am hoping that if I sing these words enough to him, that he will never forget my love for him not matter what happens to me.  After singing to him, I laid him down in his crib and quietly closed the door.  It was a perfect ending to a wonderful night.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

