Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Guess who is Potty trained!!!

Well, sort-of.  Nathan, 13 months, is officially potty trained for all business pertaining to, um, “number 2.”  I started putting him on the potty to go poopy a handful of times and now he refuses to potty in his cloth diapers.  Absolutely nothing traumatic about it.  Like we did with transitioning from his co-sleeper to the crib, I just waited until I noticed signs that he may be ready to start potty training.  Around 11 months old, he started coming up to me whenever he had the urge to go potty. Which reminds me, I did read once that using cloth diapers helps them to potty train pretty early on. So I put him on his potty a few times and praised him abundantly whenever he was successful on the mini-throne.  He definitely understands the concept, at least for poopies.  I have the feeling that if I would be more diligent about putting him on the potty more often that he would probably learn to do number 1 as well.  However, I’m going to wait until he starts showing signs that he is aware of needing to pee before I start working on fully potty training him.  For now, I’m just tickled pink that he does his pooping in the potty, especially since we use cloth diapers.   So every night around 8pm, his bath time, we strip down and have potty time.  He goes poopy and peepee and then he takes his bath.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

