Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

A day in the life…

Let me just explain a how a typical day cleaning is almost impossible with a toddler.

I’ll start with a simple goal…to load the dishes into the dishwasher:

  • I open dishwasher and manage to get exactly two glasses loaded when Nathan runs over to see what mommy is doing
  • I turn to get more dishes, he pulls some dirty dishes out
  • I tell him no and attempt to redirect him several times(unsuccessfully) as he keeps returning to the dishwasher
  • I give up and decide to vacuum instead
  • I plug in the vacuum and then he unplugs it again
  • I redirect him and then he makes it his mission to stand right in front of my cleaning path constantly, thinking its a game
  • I try to redirect him to finish what I am doing, he starts to cry and wants a bottle and to be held
  • I get him settled and then it is time for his nap, so I can’t do anything noisy like vacuuming or dishes
  • I do laundry instead, but before I can get them put away, he wakes up again and wants lunch
  • We eat lunch.
  • He puts half of it onto the floor and wants more
  • He finishes so I put him down so I can clean up the floor and his tray
  • He runs into the living room and pulls EVERY SINGLE item I have folded on to the floor
  • He puts one of the socks into the toilet
  • I realize what he is doing and fuss and redirect him
  • he gets mad and throws a tantrum, which I ignore and refold the clothes
  • I open the cabinets to put the re-folded towels up,
  • Nathan runs to see what mommy is doing, grabs a bottle of tylenol and runs off with it
  • I chase after him, he cries when I take it from him and wants a bottle
  • While I am fixing his bottle, he runs to the cabinets and pulls the towels out, then pulls the broom onto his head and cries
  • I sooth him, give him his bottle, then try to fix the towels again….
  • And so it continues like this….and continues…and continues…

I am sure that all of you moms of toddlers out there are nodding your heads at this because you know exactly what I am talking about.  With a 14-month old, or at least mine, I can’t really discipline him in time out or anything because he doesn’t understand that concept yet.  So I am just forced to redirect his attention a gazilion times a day and still try to clean up after him and keep him content and actually get stuff done.  For the life of me, I cannot seem to get this toddler-cleaning thing figured out.  Oh well…this time, though frustrating, will be over before I know it.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A day in the life…

  1. You just described my day to. a. T. So glad we are in it together. Good times.

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

