Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Home Sweet Home

We are FINALLY home.  We got in rather late last night, after 10PM actually.  I gave Nathan his bath and put him right to bed.  I then fell fast asleep and slept late this morning.

Although I am glad to be home, I sure do miss waking up to a hot, steaming stack of pancakes and fresh coffee every morning.  My mom-in-law, otherwise known as”Mom” is one of those homemakers that would could make Martha Stewart jealous.  She can, and has for the past couple decades or more, keep a house spotless, cook 3 multi-coursed meals a day, and still be completely composed and even cheery.  Her food is the kind that fills you from the soul to the tips of your toes.  Her meals make tupperware our bestest friend should we be lucky enough to bring a bowl or two home with us.  After visiting, we all come home with few extra pounds stored in our bodies and darn proud of it.  She is a homemaking goddess and simply fabulous.

We had a great Christmas down South and enjoyed visiting.  We did however pick up a 12-hour stomach virus at one of the airports and we were kind enough to spread it through the family. :-/   First Nathan started vomiting which was soon followed by diarrhea.  Then Pop-pop (grandfather) came down with it.  Not long after that I ended up spending a night on the bathroom floor myself.  My sister-in-law and family had gone home the day before and called in to report that she, too, came down with the awful belly bug.  😦

That aside, we had a great time.  I got some really nice gifts which I am super-excited about.  Photography was a big theme for me this year, and probably will be for the next well, forever.  Lets face it, shall we? I am a shutterhead.  Bona fide.  I got a years subscription to a photography magazine, Shutterbug.  The gift itself was creatively presented.  I first opened the box to the magazine and was simply thrilled.  I have never actually read a photography magazine up until this point, and wouldn’t have known which one to chose to begin with.  Anyways, I turned a page to see a paper announcing my one-year subscription and was beyond thrilled.  My bro-in-law, S, is also a photography fanatic.   He is also a technical whiz and enlightened me to the world of manual photography.  He inspired me to take my technical studies more seriously to expand my creative potential.

So in light of all of this, one of my New Years Resolutions is to study manual photography in great detail.  I actually have a pretty impressive history of staying true to my resolutions.  I address the heart of the issue and when combined with integrity, I find myself adhering to it well.  The heart of why I haven’t focused (at all) on technical aspects of photography? I suck at it. Really.  I do. It is human nature to avoid all things that remind you that you are inadequate at something.  My creative(ish) right brain simply detests details.  That is…until I realized that by ignoring the technical facts, that I have been seriously limiting myself in the potential images that I can create.  I am now going to embrace manual photography with newly found zeal. I am actually even excited about it.  If that’s not a huge step in the right direction, then I don’t know what is. Manual photography…make. My. Day.

Other resolutions are to speak kinder word of praise to those I love and care about, come up with a photo organization system that actually makes sense to me, and cook more for my family.  I also (and have been) plan on continuing this juicing trend to see if there is an over-all improvement to my energy levels and/or health.

Anyhow…I need to get started on getting unpacked and settled back into our home once again.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

