Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Tumor Detective

Well this morning we headed back to the Women’s Imaging center for the needle core biopsy. We arrived and they couldn’t find my name in their schedule.  I waited and then a nurse came out to talk to me.  She explained that my general physician (GP) received my results for the ultrasound of the tumor. My GP consulted with the breast surgeon, Dr. M, and wants me to go in to see her asap to discuss my treatment plan. I can’t tell if this is a bad sign, but this next fact certainly is:

My GP, who did the blood work-up, has not called me to discuss the results. She ALWAYS calls as soon as she gets it to let me know that the results are normal, or that she wants to see me in her office to discuss the results. (Did she find something and include it in my file for the breast surgeon, Dr. M?)

As I mentioned before, I called the breast surgeon earlier this week and got an appointment very soon after.  However, due to the snow, I had to cancel it.  Big mistake.  Now I wished that I had just swallowed my fear of driving on ice and drove my butt to her office. I mean seriously, WALKING there would have been preferable than dealing with waiting and not knowing what’s wrong with me.  While at the imaging center today, I said that I would go to Dr. M’s office and make my appointment.  The nurse said that she could just call from there to schedule it. Unfortunately, I can’t get in until two weeks from now.  They asked if I was ok with waiting that long, and I said yes, after all, it’s likely benign right? The nurse said nothing.  Their office asked if I had any calcification, and I said that I did not know, but the doctor who did the ultrasound did not point that out to me.

I was given my results report along with the scans.  It did not mention any calcification.  I breathed a sign of relief since I assumed that “no calcification” was good news.  I thought that perhaps knowing this one fact would have the power to erase my fears. Once I got home, I googled it and read that calcifications are actually wonderful because it means that the tumor is benign. Darn it.

While on the computer, I went ahead and scoured reputible sources for any information that I could find.  What I found left me feeling icky.

I found out that there are three tumors that mimic the benign tumor that I am thought to have (fibroandenoma).  Given that my mom’s tumor was “well-defined,” I am concerned.  These three cancerous tumors are: pyllodes tumor, mucinous, and medullary carcinomas.  I looked at my ultrasound results, compared them to others online with these tumors and it looks very similar.

The other thing that scares me is that the pyllodes tumor grows rapidly and usually diagnosed around 2cm. My tumor has grown rapidly to 1.4cm in size and does not appear to be done growing.

Unfortunately, the best way to biopsy this is via an open biopsy which is supposed to be more accurate than the core needle one.  This certainly fits my case with the canceled biopsy and breast surgeon consult.

Anyhow…just thought I would write (blog) about this.  Writing about it usually helps me feel better, getting it out of my mind and allows me to put the issue aside.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Tumor Detective

  1. I know it sounds like an odd thing to be thankful for, but be thankful for the ability to have this checked out. My mom has a tumor that’s grown large enough to be visible with the naked eye, has no pain, and is hard, but without insurance, she can’t get it checked out. She’s very sick, so sick she can’t get dressed on her own without taking a break. She has been applying for disability so she can get Medicare to get it checked. The county doctors won’t do the testing without her having some sort of coverage because it’s not considered an imminent, emergency threat (which has left her begging other clinics for a mammogram on an indigent basis). But they have put in writing she can’t work. It’s been two years.

    Anyway I know even the small things to be thankful for can help. I too have a j-pouch and found some relief over the years in being able to get things checked out. Now that I’m uninsured, I realize how lucky I was to not have to cross my fingers and hope for the best.

    So just take the thankfulness of being able to get care and realize that this means that, if it’s not a benign tumor (and odds really are in favor of it benign), you’re able to get care now instead of hoping, which gives you a great chance of being okay.

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

