Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Pretty Stinking Scared

I almost titled this post by accident, Scared to Death. It was just the first title that came to mind, but I caught it and decided that I seriously do not need to even be thinking about that particular “D” word.

I found another tumor.

At least I think that is what it is.  My heart absolutely dropped when I felt this new one for the first time. It is about 1.5 inches away from the diagnosed tumor in the direction closest to my sternum, radiating away from the nipple and the tumor.  It feels the exact same as the big tumor used to feel. It is small, about the size of half of a pea.  It is a palpable and solid mass.  This worries me.

I am concerned because even if it is benign, this means even more surgery for me, or a more extensive one from the minor lumpectomy that I envisioned.  I mean, if this keeps up, then wouldn’t at some point exist the possibility of having a radical mastectomy?  I looked online to explore what this is like for a younger person in terms of reconstruction and found this blog:

http://heidishealing.blogspot.com/2009_10_01_archive.html

Anyhow, I am going to call my doctor Monday to let her know of what I found.  I can’t find anything which supports spreading tumors (if that is what this is) in a favorable light.  Even if it is a benign fibroadenoma, studies show that having multiple fibroadenomas increases your risk of breast cancer.  With one fibroadenoma, I will have about a 2-4% increased risk for developing cancer over the course of my lifetime.  I was reading also about what is the usual protocol for multiple fibroadenomas. I definitely have a ton of questions for the breast surgeon.  I can’t help but to wonder why didn’t they see this second possible tumor in the original sonograms?  I read this study that said that only around 82% of biopsy-proven fibroadenomas were visualized in sonography.  Another fact that worries me is that even with sonography and a biopsy diagnosis of fibroadenoma, 5% of patients are incorrectly diagnosed because their tumor is actually cancer.

There is a slight risk that the benign tumor can change into cancer. I read that, “About 50% of these tumors were lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS), 20% were infiltrating lobular carcinoma, 20% were ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS), and the remaining 10% were infiltrating ductal carcinoma. The clinical, sonographic and mammographic findings are usually similar to those of benign fibroadenomas,and the malignant changes are often noted only when the fibroadenoma is excised.” If it is a fibroadenoma, then it may end up resolving on its own if it is not removed.  The average “lifetime” of a fibroadenoma is around 15 years.

Anyhow…I will keep reading more tomorrow.  I am tired now and have to get up early for church tomorrow.  I found that writing this post and doing some research has made me feel a little better about it.  Certainly less anxious about things and more empowered to face whatever in the world these little buggers are that have made themselves at home in my body.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

