Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Biopsy Results

Yesterday I called the cancer nurse and she said that the biopsy results came in and that the sample is NEGATIVE for cancer cells!!! I was SO excited and relieved. I sent emails and texts messages to everyone to let them know of the results.  They were all so happy to hear the good news.

I wish I could say that I felt completely relieved, but I did not and for good reasons.  The results of this sample do not mean that I the tumor is 100% benign, nor does it mean I am cancer-free.  The biopsy sample was not sufficient to cover the entire tumor.  Usually the doctor gets between 3-6 samples from various points of the tumor because sometimes one part can have cancer while the other is benign.  So “negative for cancer cells” does not mean the same as benign in this case.  However, the ultrasound report did not mention the tumor being heterogeneous, which is a fancy word for saying that the tissue varies in how it looks.  Since my tumor DID look the same throughout, then it may very well be that it will have the same result regardless of where the sample is taken from, and thus negative for cancer cells. This is what I suspect and what I am hoping is the case.  I feel that this tumor is benign. Even with being cautiously optimistic, this represents a huge step in the right direction.  I feel good about it. Really good.

Dr. Jennifer, the breast cancer surgeon, has not yet reviewed my pathology reports from the biopsy, breast cancer gene test, and tests for the pituitary (brain) tumor. I know only that it tested negative for cancer cells.  I called their office back and spoke to the nurse, who said that she will contact me after she consults with my ENT/Cochlear Implant Surgeon about how best to go about my MRI body scan.  My ENT surgeon has to remove the magnets from just under my scalp prior to the MRI scan.

I am not exactly sure what is in my future, but I do know that I will have this magnet excision/MRI scan soon and most likely a lumpectomy to remove the tumor. From the moment I met Dr. Jennifer, I felt instant relief because I know that I am in great hands and that she won’t let anything bad happen to me.  Likewise, my other physicians genuinely care about me and will keep an eye out for me.  This is comforting.  In addition, by the time Dr. Jennifer finishes my health work-up, I will know exactly what I have and she will come up with the best treatment options for me.

That being said, I have to note that I have had a lot of friends and family praying for me. I don’t mean just gossiping followed by “bless her heart” comments either. I am talking about honest to goodness down-on-their-knees, heartfelt prayers to let me stay here on earth for a long time so that I can see my precious son grow up and maybe even see my grandchildren one day.  I feel eternally grateful, loved, and supported by each and every one of them.  So on behalf myself and my family- THANK YOU and ((HUGS)).

For other news, Nathan is MUCH better from his bout of Roseola.  He still has a little ear infection, but aside from his ear being tender to the touch, he is acting totally back to normal being his silly, sweetie-pie self. He did something really cute yesterday.  I was watching a show and put it on pause, and the screen looked very similar with words of the same color as our video relay chat/telephone. We always call once a week or so to video chat with Nathan’s grandparents, called BB and Pop-pop. Nathan, thinking that it was another video relay call, pointed at the TV excitedly and asked, “Bay bay Tay Vay? At Bay bay?”  He says the AY sound when he means EE, so he was asking, “BB TV? That BB?” meaning is that BB on the TV.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

