Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

While he sleeps…

While Nathan sleeps, I have been working my tushy off whipping this house into shape.  For whatever reason, my tolerance for clutter and generally ugly rooms have nearly driven me up the wall.  After largely neglecting the house for almost 2 years due to pregnancy and tending to a nursing infant, I have finally strapped on my working pants and dived right in without a glimpse back.

And I’m loving it.

I’ve had random decorating projects stored vaguely in the back of head for quite some time. I begged, pleaded, cried expressed to C just how much it would mean to me if I can just have the OK to do whatever I need to do in order to accomplish my Banish the Ugliness mission. He happily agreed to allow the beautiful home we deserve to come true.

Well, that’s not quite true. It was more like he grew tired my incessant requests and finally gave in after I PROMISED that I would A- clean up after every completed project, and B- would not require any work on his part, unless he simply wanted to help.  I will say that he really IS liking what I am doing and he is starting to get an idea of what it will look like when I am done. He also recalls now that I actually have a knack for decorating and he is really looking forward to having a beautiful home again.

What am I doing, you ask? Here’s a summary of my DIY list:

  • Painting the entire downstairs of the house, downstairs bathroom excluded.
  • Refinishing my dining set
  • refinishing/upholstering 4 chairs
  • removing faux paint and (gags) wallpaper from master bedroom/bath
  • Painting and decorating the master bedroom
  • redoing our bedroom lamps
  • making shower curtain
  • framing the antique doilies for our room
  • making a wall collage for our foyer downstairs
  • Completely decluttering downstairs
  • making a playroom
  • refinishing our stairs
  • reflooring the entire downstairs

And a few other projects. Like figuring out what to do with our totally hideous bedroom fan (will post pic later). It is actually very practical and high-quality, but it is a very contemporary design/color. I’ve spent many a sleepless night staring hatefully at the thing and dreaming of how I can replace it without offending my thrifty-conscious ideals. You see quite a bit of ‘downstairs’ projects. This is because the downstairs is, quite honestly, a hot mess.  Likewise, our master bedroom is one of those rooms that puts you to sleep because it is simply horrifying to look at for longer than necessary. Don’t get me started on our bathroom. Ugh.

So, for the duration of the summer I will largely be working very hard on completing these projects while my handsome boy sleeps.  I apologize in advance for the numerous post about decorating and DYI projects. For those who like the DYI thing, I will be posting detailed DYI posts with pictures in case you want to tackle a project or two yourself. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

