Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

My Birfday

It is really late, but I wanted to go ahead and post this before I forget. Today was my birthday. I turned twenty- (mumbles). I’m really big on laid-back affairs, and today was just that. I spent the day working on my beadboard project. Part of my gift was free Daddy Daycare so that I could focus on finishing the project and get it done with.Ā  Then, C treated me to some Indian food, followed by our favorite DQ ice cream cake with the fudge layer. YUM! Nathan helped himself to some of the green icing trim before I could blow out the candles. Here are some pictures (I look a little rough, no make-up and covered in random goo from the beadboard project under construction).

THEN, to my great surprise, he revealed not one but TWO gifts! One huge box and one little one. Us ladies, may I add, are big fans of those little boxes. šŸ˜‰

I opened the big one. I had NO idea what was in it. It turned out to be a Kennmore toaster oven! I know, I know…you’re probably thinking, well why would she be excited about that?Ā  The reason is because I have a major oven-thermophobia in the summer time. The oven, in addition to taking a second less than forever to pre-heat, also heats our entire house. The long wait for oven baked chicken nuggets makes for a cranky toddler, and the insufferable heat makes for a cranky mommy. The solution? A full-sized toaster oven! Yes indeedy, this lady is tickled pink about this little lean, mean, chicken nugget baking machine.

Then I opened the little box. Slowly. I wanted to savor every moment leading up to the moment that I laid my eyes on this little beauty. A little beauty that I’ve been dreaming of for the past 4 years…

Isn’t it pretty!?! He got me a matching single-row anniversary band to complete my wedding set! šŸ™‚ It is a little to big, so I need to get it resized. I really love it though. I felt a little guilty at first about it, but he promised (on his best golf club) that he scored it for 70% off and then I was tickled pink. šŸ™‚Ā  I love nice things, but I REFUSE to buy anything full priced. I just can’t justify wasting extra money just because I’m not patient enough to wait for it to go on sale or don’t think ahead and buy it ahead of time on sale. Anyhow, it turned out to be a “just right” kind of day. Major productiveness in between spending time with my two most favorite people in the world (and ice cream cake).

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

