Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

House Updates (Pardon my Progress!)

I realized that I have not yet updated my blog on the house updates. This summer I embarked on a “Banish the Ugliness” mission of sorts. I still have a bit more to do, but I’ll show you what I have done and what is underway:

I sewed a bolster pillow for our bed using drop cloth. I chose to do a bolster pillow because I would MUCH rather remove one big pillow every night than a million little ones.  I added an antique doily and then tied some various lace remnants onto the ends for extra details. I also found some ivory sheets on clearance with a gorgeous 6″ lace trim on the edge. I do not have them on the bed yet because I want to finish painting first.  It will look really pretty when I fold the sheet down to let the lace peek out from beneath the pillows. I really love how the little details make such a big statement!

For my birthday, I bought two original paintings from the artist, Julia Lu. I LOVE her expressionist style! I am hoping that I will get them framed as a Christmas gift. Aren’t they pretty?

I am also trying to find the right paint for our bedroom, which I am redoing to make it a romantic, soothing retreat for the two of us. I finally realized that in order to achieve the grey-blue color that I am searching for, I have to go with a very light sage green or else it looks really blue. I ended up mixing a blue color with beige and painting samples onto the wall to view in different lighting throughout the day. I also painted a little onto white index cards, which I labeled with a letter. I wrote the respective letter on blue painters tape and placed it right next to the color on the wall so that I could keep them straight.

Below is the chair that I redid. I may put it in our bedroom, but I am not sure yet.

Our little dog, Lil’Man, was in desperate need of a cozy bed so that he could sleep in our room at nice and stay nice and cozy. I went into our garage and found an old brown wicker basket, and it was the perfect size. I primed, painted, distressed, and sealed the basket and placed a pillow in it for Lil’Man. He LOVES it!

I wish you could have seen the foyer when we bought the house. There used to be a solid door there and it was so dark and gloomy since the light could not get in. We had a pair of mismatched door hardware as well. So we ended up replacing the door and the hardware, and now it it much more bright and welcoming. 🙂

Below is a picture of the dresser that I inherited from my mom.  I really do not like dressers with matching mirrors. It reminds me of a bed-in-a-bag sort of thing.  So at the moment, I have no clue how to make this work for our room, but make it work I shall. I did consider, briefly, converting the mirror into a head board for our bed. Then I thought that my mom would come up out of her grave specifically to kick my rear if I ever messed with her dresser, so the idea went right out of the window. I’ll just have to think about it some more.

Finally, I am working on doing a wall collage of all of our favorite pictures and memorabilia downstairs. Right now I am in the process of putting the pictures up. After I am done, I will likely take measures to coordinated the frame colors/styles a little better. I want to see it all up and live with it for awhile before I do this though.  🙂

Well, that’s all I have for you at the moment. I am planning on working this weekend some more on these projects. I am NOT a decorator, but I DO love being in pretty homes and want to make our home look nice as well.  I am really looking forward to seeing everything looking nice again.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “House Updates (Pardon my Progress!)

  1. The dresser is actually really beautiful the way it is 🙂 Why not take the mirror off though? You wouldn’t really be wrecking it if you used it in a different place, and I am sure you being happy would make your Mom happier than anything 🙂 It would make a super cool headboard!!

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

