Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

My Grand Quilting Adventure

Lately I have been itching to sew Nathan a simple quilt.  I love sewing as well as the logistics of stitches/geometry, so it seems like a fun (though tedious) project. Plus, I can incorporate some math lessons into my efforts for Nathan to learn.  I also want him to have something special that his mommy made just for him.

I am planning on making a contemporary yet vintage farm-inspired simple twin-sized quilt for his big boy bed.  I have scored a few lots of nice fabric from ebay very inexpensively for materials.  Right now I am working on sewing the four panels which will go on top of his bed like a centerpiece of sorts. I am not sure of yet how I’ll piece the colors or fabrics together, but I am thinking of doing something simple like this:

I don’t know if it is overly cute or not, but it is very forgiving toward mistakes, which I certainly need.  The other simple square design is the worst quilt for showing all of your mistakes.  Anyhow…I also scored some seriously gorgeous fabrics from ebay for our bedroom and for curtains.  The guy bought out bolts of high-end designer fabrics which usually run around $45-$100 a yard. I am buying some of these at around $2 a yard! I am super-excited and hope that everything turns out to be cute.  Fingers crossed!

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

