Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Exciting times ahead

After going through multiple miscarriages over last 7 months, C and I have finally accepted the fact that I will need as much help as I can get if we want to have another child soon.  The wonderful RE (reproductive endocrinologist) and I have completed testing to help figure out why I can get pregnant easily but cannot keep the pregnancies. We discussed all of our options regarding fertility treatment, which I then discussed with C. With the previous miscarriages, we have already ruled out all of the ‘at home’ treatments to help sustain pregnancy, and none of them worked.  Frankly, I am absolutely tired of losing pregnancies and have lost faith in my body’s ability to do it alone after loss number 3 or so. What is that saying? ‘If you keep doing the same things then expect the same results’. Or, ‘stupidity is when you do the same things over and over again but expect different results.’  Its hard on my body, mind, and spirit and I’m done with it.

We have decided to try a round of injections with close monitoring to recruit (grow) several eggs at once.  The medication protocol is actually the same as that of intrauterine insemination (IUI).  The idea is that by increasing the number of eggs released, I can increase my chances of having one of the little beans actually stick around past the usual time when I tend to lose the pregnancy, hopefully one will make it into the “safe zone” of the second trimester and result in birthing our second child. It should also help in several other ways. First, close monitoring will allow me to start on blood thinning shots even before week 4, which I cannot do without close monitoring.  Secondly, they can artificially enhance my cycle to make sure that ovulation occurs at the right time, something my body tends to be bad about, and thus makes the womb environment perfect for conception/implantation of the embryo. Lastly, should this method fail, it will allow my RE to gather tons of data which will help her get a better picture of exactly what is going on with my body and pregnancy.

There are a few downsides to injectable. One is that there is a chance of multiples such as twins.  Close monitoring helps them greatly reduce this risk, so I am not concerned about it. Shots aren’t fun, but I would take shots any day over going through another cycle with the same exact risk of miscarriage as I had for the last 7 months. Lastly, it is a little expensive, though nowhere near that of IVF.  It is totally worth it to us to pay the fees if it means us getting closer to our dreams of another child.

We are talking about hopefully being pregnant before the first of the year. So I can likely begin the process anywhere within the next 2-8 weeks. When we start the process depends on tons of variables such as my body being ready and other things.  We are definitely getting the ball rolling as we speak. I am ready for this. Scared, but ready.  We have gone through a year and a half of doctor appointments and not really preventing pregnancy, trying several rounds of clomid fertility medications, and praying. We are both ready for things to take a turn for the better, or at least have a better chance of doing so.

I have debated on if I should or should not post the details of our injectable round of fertility treatment, including early pregnancy details should we become pregnant.  The main issue is that there is a stigma in conservative society or some unspoken rule that you do not announce pregnancy until week 12.  I disagree with this “rule” but do not want to offend anyone, if such thing is possible. I think that there are so many women out there who can read this and it can maybe help them too see that they are not alone. I saw this after posting about our miscarriages.  I also believe that keeping the early pregnancy private does nothing to honor the precious miracle of early life even if the life is lost early on.  So…I will be sharing updates on this blog as I become aware of them as you take this journey right along with us.  I only ask that you please remember that a positive pregnancy test does not mean a baby for us due to our history, but rather a huge step in the right direction toward our dreams of having another child. 🙂

 

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

