Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Nathan 3. Mom 1.

It is super late tonight and I am very tired, but I really want to write down a few things that happened today.

Today was a day of alarming revelations about this child of mine. I know that he is smart, but I am starting to realize how crafty he can be. Today I wanted to swing by Walgreens to get some of their sales items.  While we were getting into the car, he was listing every place he could think of hoping to figure out where we were going.  Telling him we were going to the store wasn’t good enough for him. I never considered telling him the store names before. I thought that a 2 year old would not really care which store we go to. Anyhow, he doesn’t know the names of the stores but knows exactly where to turn at every intersection to go to all of the places we go to.  If he says that he wants to go to a particular place, and we don’t turn off at the right road, he gets very mad at us.  That’s how I know he knows our routes.

Anyhow, he immediately recognized what he calls the “red W” store (Walgreens).  I tried to tell him that “red W” is really called Walgreens. He thought about it but decided that there is absolutely no evidence of any color green on that big red W sign, so “red W” it is.

We’ve been in there a few times before and I know that he LOVES the toy aisle there.  Last time we went, I made a point to avoid the aisle hoping to avoid a tantrum in public.  It worked, sort-of.  Today, I parked the car and went to get him out. He saw his little golf ball on the floor and absolutely insisted on bringing it with him.  I thought that it was odd but let him have it anyways.  I found out why later.

We entered the store.  He seems to know the floor plan or layout of each place that we’ve visited before, Walgreens included. As we neared the toy aisle, he started to pay close attention to the isles. The second I pushed my cart in view of the toy aisle, he tossed his little ball down the aisle and immediately started throwing a tantrum over his “lost” ball.  I had no choice but to push him along with me down the toy isle to retrieve the silly ball.  Yes…my son pulled a fast one on me.  I need to learn not to underestimate him.

On the way home, he kept saying his ABCs as fast as humanly possible. At the end, he would add, “Next time will you “ting” wiff meeeee!”  I thought it was adorable so I tried to sneak a recording with my iphone.  He saw a flash of my pink iPhone case and immediately stopped singing.  I tried to hide it a little better and told him it was off but he knew that was not the case. Little stinker.

At home tonight, I was quietly telling C about an earlier incident of Nathan misbehaving and how I handled it.  Nathan seemed to be suspiciously quiet, presumably engrossed in a blaring iPad movie.  Right when I started telling C about how we need to be on our guard for Nathan pulling tricks on us, Nathan skipped over and started trying to make us change the subject. He’s been doing this since before he turned 2 but this is the first time I’ve seen him plan it ahead of time.  This incident plus the whole golf ball trick was both planned well in advanced, which totally changes the name of the game when it comes to not being (embarrassingly) outwitted by this child.

It a way, it is a little intimidating. If he is already capable of masterminding things like this at 2 years old, before he even has a full vocabulary, then what will he be doing at 5?  I mean, come on, this kid is still in DIAPERS and I’m having to reverse engineer any new tricks to evaluate if it is deliberate or truly an accident.  He KNOWS this. After he dropped the ball, I gave him the look which tells him that I know he did it on purpose. He was watching my reaction and quickly switched on the michevious charm that I know all too well.

Oh! During lunch, I was making a list. He asked for more food so I got up to fix it. He jumped down and randomly ran to the pile of clothes on the couch, then ran back to his seat. I saw him closely watching my face. I noticed this look of his and knew that he was up to no good, but didn’t put it all together until I noticed that my pen was missing and that he didn’t want any of the food that he asked me to get for him. Yes…another trick pulled on me. I told him to give me my pen back. He played dumb, saying “A pen? On the table?” I told him to knock it off and go get my pen right this minute. I headed toward the pile of clothes on the couch, knowing that he stashed it there, and he set out to distract me. He grabbed my clothes and some socks and ran off to throw them down the stairs.  I started to go and get the clothes and realized exactly what he was trying to do. I knew that he intended to retrieve the pen and put it in a better hiding place while I was out of sight. I turned and around and went back. There was Nathan with the pen in his hand. Busted! A point for mom. Our official score of the day is Nathan:3. Mom:1.

Bring. It. On.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

