Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Fetal Doppler

After doing some research online, I finally broke down and purchased a fetal doppler system to check the baby’s heart beat here at home.  I could not think of a good reason not to allow myself the occasional reassurance of making sure my baby still has a heart beat in between my OB appointments.  If I had known how affordable they are, I would have used one with Nathan’s pregnancy. Nevertheless, I am sure that this will end up being the best $55 I have ever spent.  Peace of mind is worth its weight in gold.

The model I chose to get is the Sonoline B Fetal Doppler. It is FDA approved, has a 1 year warranty, and comes with the 3Mhz doppler probe along with gel and other goodies.  The online product description says that this can be used starting between weeks 8-10, which I think is a bit wishful because that is super early to try to use the doppler.  Ideally, waiting until after the uterus is out of the pelvis and therefore more easily probed is best.  However, I do recall my doctor managing to find his heartbeat around 9-10 weeks, but I think he had success as a result of his experience plus my anatomy.  The less there is between the probe and the baby, the better the chances are of picking up the heartbeat.

 

I am mainly excited because I recall being able to identify Nathan’s first kicks based on the sound from the doppler plus the flutters I felt.  It is so hard to know in those early weeks if what you are feeling is actually the baby or your own digestion.  It is an amazing experience.  I will be sure to post a follow-up review after my doppler arrives in the mail.

 

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

