Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Contractions

 

It looks like this pregnancy will be filled with irritable uterus contractions again.  Last Thursday and Friday I was plagued with tons of contractions. I know that being dehydrated makes the contractions act up more than normal, so I have been trying to drink my weight in water each day. The problem is that sometimes my colonless body simply doesn’t absorb the water I am drinking, and I end up even more dehydrated despite my best efforts. It is not that the pregnancy itself is making me dehydrated, I’m always one step away from dehydration without being pregnant, but it is just that being in this state is simply not good for pregnancy.

I made an appointment with my OB this past Monday to discuss the possibility of a PICC line and home IV fluids. The OB decided to try and get a PICC line in me and home health care so that I can rehydrate at home as needed.  I had the same thing with Nathan, and it was an absolute lifesaver. I usually hook it up at bedtime and unhook it in the morning.  I probably should have kept the PICC line in with him for the whole pregnancy to help with the irritable uterus contractions, but at the time that it was removed I was not having any contractions and there was no way to predict the complications I would have later.  At least this time I know better and so I am taking the initiative to do whatever I need to do in order to stay healthy and keep baby happy. It beats the heck out of going to the ER, and it is mighty convenient to be able to treat myself as needed from home.

Tonight, I ended up with a few more bouts of contractions again. It feels like someone is pulling on my insides and can feel a little sore after awhile. Hopefully I will have my PICC line in by the end of the week and start feeling better sooner than later. 🙂

Anyhow, other than that, things are going really well. This pregnancy has been 1,000% easier than Nathan’s pregnancy.  I have honestly loved and am loving every minute of it! The other day, I thought I may have felt a few tiny little popcorn-like kicks from the baby in the middle just above the pubic bone. It only happened about three or four times over the course of a few minutes while I was laying on my side. My OB was surprised that I haven’t already been feeling kicks at my appointment Monday. It is very early, but he said with this being my second and my body type that I will probably feel tiny kicks very soon. With Nathan, I noticed around week 15. I am 14w4d now. I can’t wait!!! 🙂

 

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

