Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

18 weeks Preggo

Yesterday I had to run an errand and came home to irritable contractions. A LOT of irritable contractions. Individually, they weren’t much to sneeze at. Collectively they took my breath away and made me feel sore, mainly because it pulled on scar tissue and that just plain didn’t feel good. This morning, I finally called my OB and was told to head on in to check on things. So I dropped Nathan off at his homeschool preschool group and off I went.

At the OB’s office, I was poked and prodded….and violated (twice). Once was for a cervical check, which I thought was totally unnecessary because I also had a cervical check via the ultrasound. I seriously hate OB exams. I am pretty sure this feeling is unanimous with every other woman alive, minus a few weirdos, but just thought I’d throw that out there. Anyhow…both exams determined that all the contractions did not change anything down south, so I am still good to keep on baking this little bean. Whoo-hoo!

Speaking of, during the cervical check, the ultrasound tech yielded to my fervent pleads to see the baby on the screen. The baby’s head was pretty much the only thing I could see since he is in the head-down position. That and his hand. I actually got to bring a picture home of his hand, which is just amazing. I also thought I saw some…ahem…boy parts. So I asked the ultrasound tech:

Me: Are those boy parts?

Tech: No that’s the umbilical cord.

Ditzy me, slightly incredulously: His cord looks like boy parts?!?

Tech: No. You just don’t know how to read a scan.

Ok…maybe she didn’t say that last part. I honestly wasn’t paying attention and missed what she said, but it wouldn’t surprise me if she did say that. Nevertheless, I actually have a picture of the “boy part look-alike” cord on one of my take-home sonogram pictures. I swear it looks like boy parts, but whatever. It has two little ovals side-by-side with with another shape sticking up from the middle, if you know what I mean. So this baby could def be a boy. Or it could be a girl with a rather confusing umbilical cord. Who knows?  😉

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

