Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

A week from H-E-double hocky sticks.

I mean that. Last week was awful.  It started with transitioning Nathan to the big boy bed, which would have been fine except that C was on call all week and was unable to assist in any way.  I ended up sitting in the room with Nathan for about an hour until he would wind down enough for me to leave the room around 11pm.  It would take me another hour to go to sleep, followed by having to wake up every few hours to go to the bathroom. He would then come bounding into the room between 6:30 and 7am ready to start the (napless) day.  My pregnant body was beyond tired.

Did I mention that I had a bout of strong contractions Sunday night? That was fun. Monday, though very sore, was pretty uneventful with the pregnancy. Then while teaching Tuesday, I started with another round of contractions but just worked right through it. Tuesday afternoon, I noticed some spotting and called my doctor, who then told me to go in to triage to be checked. I ended up mildly tortured at triage until around 2am in the morning before finally being released.

On the way home, knowing that my license had JUST expired, I was very careful not to speed and to obey the traffic laws. I got pulled over by a cop anyways….for a headlight that was out/almost out of all things.  It was literally the first time I had driven at night in months, so I had no way of knowing about the light situation. Anyhow, even after explaining (and showing paper proof) that I was just coming home from an emergency ER visit and had planned on getting my license and car checked out on Friday (for brakes, but I am sure they would have checked the lights), he still slapped me with a hefty fine and court date.  I got my very first ticket ever. I drove home an exhausted, sobbing mess and cried myself to sleep over my seriously rotten luck.

Nathan came bounding into the room 3 hours later ready to start the (napless) day…and so my week went.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

