Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Sciatic Pain

For the last week I have been out of commission with seriously bad sciatic pain. When it is not as irritated, it just feels like a pinched nerve and causes discomfort whenever I walk. At the middle phase of the pain, it’s like a charlie horse in the rear. At it’s worst, it is crippling since I cannot put any weight on my left leg or even sit down without major pain.  The only way I can describe it is if you were to get four flu shots in your arm, then do one push-up for every step that you walk.  Tylenol does nothing to help, and I cannot take advil during pregnancy. The only two things that help is to either sit in a hot bath or on the heating pad, but having a trouble maker for a three year old means that this is pretty much impossible. Plus, the one position I can sit in comfortably while watching Nathan causes my entire left leg to fall asleep, which would be ok except for that Nathan has to constantly hit, bump into, step on, or otherwise bother my leg and each time sets off another wave of intense pins and needles sensation.

I had no choice but to stay home from work on Tuesday, so I did tons of grading and such from my computer instead while at home in bed since Nathan was at the “Purple House” daycare. Wednesday it seemed slightly more tolerable. Thursday it felt a little better and I went to campus to teach. I was planning on having transportation accommodations to and from class, but it fell through. So I left the office about 45 minutes before class to slowly, painfully make my way across campus to teach, and did the same thing to get back to my car. My legs and feet tend to swell after working too, though I’m not sure what’s up with that.  Today, Friday, I woke up in more pain than I’ve had all week. It’s miserable.

What makes it even more miserable is that I haven’t been mobile enough to clean the house, and C won’t, so the house is trashed and there’s not a darn thing I can do about it. Every 10-45 minutes I have to painfully get up and shuffle around to fetch something Nathan isn’t supposed to have, or fix food/drinks for one of us, find whatever toy he’s throwing a tantrum over, go to the bathroom, change diapers, rescue the mutt from being tortured by a three year old, and so forth. I’m seriously about to cry because I am just DONE with this. I want a clean house and a functional leg and a cotton-picking break from it all. But alas, the house will remain wrecked until I can clean it myself and the break will never come.

Oh well. This too shall pass, and I’ll be even stronger because of it.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

