Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Zane’s Birth

Howdy! Sorry it has taken my so long to finally get back to posting. My last month of pregnancy was increasingly more difficult for me on a weekly basis. Anyhow…Mr. Benjamin “Zane” arrived on New Years Eve via c-section. The boy weighed a whopping 8 pounds, 9.4 ounces and 20″ long! No wonder I was so miserable! His big brother only weighed 6 pounds, 15 ounces, so the last month of Zane was new territory for my scarred belly in terms of stretching and so forth. Here is a picture a few days before his birth:

IMG_4041

Zane arrived two weeks early, meaning had I gone another week or two he would have weighed between 9-10 pounds at birth. Regardless, I’m REALLY glad I went the c-section route once I saw my chunk of chub to love. Yes…I did decide to go the section route despite my very strong feelings toward a VBAC. I ended up having to do what was best for the baby and I in the end due to several unforeseen complications that arose. The main issue was that I simply couldn’t stretch much more without seriously risking a mechanical intestinal obstruction. Things were so squished in there that toward the end I had trouble even passing liquids through my squished bowels. Had I suffered an obstruction, the only option would have been to deliver via c-section to relieve the blockage. This would mean a section while vomiting, bloated, suffering severe pain, and possibly losing some more small bowel due to blood supply being cut off.

The other part is that I found out that a VBAC, while they allow it, is different from a regular vaginal birth. I would be required to get an epidural very shortly into labor and also would have to stay in bed to be monitored the whole time.  I didn’t feel like these requirements would give me a very good chance at a successful VBAC.  The third reason I decided to have him early is due to the intensity of the pain I had those last few weeks. It was quickly getting to the point of being unbearable due to the pre-existing nerve damage and issues I have from all of my surgeries. Being in that much pain and discomfort isn’t good for baby or mommy. So a c-section was planned for 38 weeks, 3 days gestation on New Years Eve- a Tax Break baby!

I had a WONDERFUL birth experience. It was 1,010% better than my first birth. We arrived that morning to the hospital a few hours early. I had been on a self-imposed soft then liquid diet for a few days prior to help prevent an illus following the spinal block for surgery, so I was pretty flippin’ hungry pregnant lady. Anyhow, we went back to the pre-surgery waiting room where I met with a parade of doctors and nurses prior to surgery, got set up to monitor my hyper little boy, and had my IV inserted for some much needed fluids.  My OB came in and to my relief she was fully prepared for my surgery. She obviously did her homework because she was able to fill in the anesthesiologist with my health history with impressive detail. I almost could have hugged her right then and there because I knew then that I would be in very good hands.

I also showed her a modified Birth Plan.  I’m not at all a “birth diva” but simply wanted to communicate my preferences so that I can participate as much as possible in the birth, and get off to a good start with my new baby. She took my list I gave her and carefully went over it with me point by point. Among the other items on my list, I wanted a mirror so that I could see him being born. I also wanted to nurse him as soon as possible after birth. I made it a point to state that I absolutely did not want to be separated from my baby after birth involuntarily for any reason.  She honored all of these requests as well as my other ones and it made things go so much better for me. She did an amazing job.

The section went beautifully. Zane was pretty wedged in there so they had to use a forceps to get his noggin out to where they could get him out. They tugged me this way and that as they tried to free him from a very tight space. I saw as they pulled him out and handed him over to be cleaned off and assessed by the pediatrician. He had some fluid that he inhaled and so they had to work with him a little to clear it. However, his apgar score was excellent as he pinked up and cried very quickly for us.  They then weighed him and announced that he weighed a whopping 8 pounds, 9.4 ounces and 20″ long. There was not a single person in the room who could believe that a baby that size came out of my relatively little baby bump, myself included! I actually had to get the interpreter to sign the weight to me a few times because I thought for sure I misunderstood her.

After they sewed me up, they wheeled me with my brand new baby in my arms to recovery. I was bleeding too much, so they ended up massaging my uterus (ouch) and finally ended up giving me something in the IV to slow the bleeding. I was able to nurse my baby. He latched on like a champ! We were all so, so happy to finally meet my precious little boy, and very grateful that he arrived a very healthy child to a healthy mommy. 🙂IMG_4065

IMG_4055  IMG_4061IMG_4219

Anyhow, my recovery was relatively uneventful minus two things. Zane had an elevated jaundice level and had to sit under the bili lights in my room. It was hard to see, however, I swear the boy absolutely loved the warmth he felt under those lights. I did come down with the flu despite vaccination in the hospital but was able to keep nursing him to keep him safe through the nursing antibodies. Everyone in our family came down with it but Zane, so the milk did an excellent job keeping him healthy. On day three I was discharged, and by the end of the week I felt really good despite having the flu and surgery.

  IMG_4177IMG_4208

I am now two weeks postpartum. I am still very tired and trying to make sure I do not do anything to set my recovery back since I know I am still healing on the inside, but I honestly feel great! This was by far THE easiest surgery I have ever had, and I am really grateful for things to have gone as well as they did. My OB did a fabulous job with the birth. My mom-in-law has been a tremendous blessing as she has been holding down the fort so that I can focus on my recovery, resting, nursing, and taking care of my newborn. I am blessed!

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

