Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Belly Bug and Diaper Rash

How do you christian a newly-minted mom of two? Have her host a bout of a belly bug! So we did. Thank goodness it did not involve vomiting, just plenty of nausea and lower GI issues. It was really weird though because no one had an actual fever. Nathan acted normal aside from maybe being a little more tired than usual and going to the bathroom more often. Since I KNOW my child, and experienced similar symptoms myself, I strongly suspected a virus though I didn’t have enough to really call the doctor about. So I’ve kept him on the BRAT diet and eliminated diary and apple juice. Then, last night he had a symptom that I can finally call the doctor about to see what else I can do for him.

Unfortunately that ‘symptom’ left his bottom totally red and raw. He refused to let me apply a rash cream, saying that it hurt his ‘bobo.’ So I went into Nurse Mommy mode and initiated my Total Sore Bottom Defense plan of action. Just in case someone out there has a similar issue, here is what I did:

  • Keep their bottoms clean. As soon as they poop, change their diaper or clean them up.
  • Don’t use wipes. Use a soft washcloth and warm water only.
  • Dry their bottoms before putting underwear/diapers back on.
  • Use a cream if they let you. Diaper rash creams with zinc burn like the devil. Coconut oil burns as well. Use petroleum or plain corn starch. I’ve even heard of using maalox (anti-acid liquid medicine) as a cream or wash on their bottoms.
  • If you suspect yeast, use a washcloth soaked in boiled garlic water to wipe them down between changes. You can apply garlic oil squeezed out of oral garlic oil supplements to their bottoms, especially for overnight. It is instantly soothing and will kill yeast on contact. Trust me, it works!

For Nathan, he wouldn’t let me put cream on his bottom. Instead, I fixed a herbal bath for him. I squirted enough of Dr. Bonners Peppermint castile soap to make the water cloudy. Peppermint is soothing and the castile soap is a very gentle way to clean. Then I added some Tea Tree Oil, Eucalyptus, and some Calendula oil to the water. He initially didn’t want to sit down in the bath because his bottom was so sore, so I distracted him from this by giving him some glow sticks to play with while the lights were off.

Then, I made sure his bottom was dried. I put a diaper on him that I had sprinkled with about a tablespoon of plain corn starch. I gave him some advil to help aliviate¬† some of the discomfort. This morning I checked his bottom and it was SO MUCH better! He wasn’t even complaining of it hurting or acting like it was sore. It went from oozing-like, red, raw to just a little bit pink overnight. Totally amazing! Anyhow- I hope this helps someone. It certainly worked for him!

 

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

