Just another mom blog…

For this child, I have prayed. (Samuel 1:27)

Mommies need breaks too

I recently read an article written by a mom on the topic of needing breaks. You can read it here.

I’ve always explained it as feeling “touched out.” Touched out is a term to describe my total lack of personal space and dignity that comes with being home all day with two young children. It also refers to sensory assaults. Everyone has their own threshold to what they can tolerate, and every situation is unique.

Sensory assaults…my kids are having some lower GI issues. The cat is having upper GI issues. I woke up this morning to my floors being covered in vomit ranging from just-eaten food to liquid to finally a liquid puddle with the offending hairball finally expelled. The kids have had several massive bowel movements and I have no clue what is up with that.

There is a lack of physical space…throughout the day I am constantly hit, tapped, or flat-out headbutted because I am deaf and that is how they get my attention. Empty sippy cups are tossed or thrown at me. All of my food and drinks are begged for and I frequently look down into the cup that I have been drinking to see a wad of spit from a four year old drink sampler deciding he did not, in fact, want to drink my water. So he just spits it back for me to discover later. Fun times.

Lack of dignity….potty breaks and baths are communal events. These occasions are basically parties as far as the kids are concerned.

I am at the mercy of these little yet demanding clients 24 hours a day. I am ok with this and this is what I absolutely want to do, but it is healthy for Moms to take time for themselves to recharge, and husbands need to be understanding of this. So moms…TAKE A BREAK. Recharge your batteries and you’ll back on top of your game in no time.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think? Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed! :-)

